What to do… what to do

OK, I’ve been on the low end of the production team for a couple of films and television series. And I’m not really going anywhere. The jump from PA to AD isn’t that great and really, I’ve been spending so much time away from home (even though I currently work locally, I still have such strange hours). JP and I want to start a family and I’m starting to think that spending ridiculous hours on set or on location just isn’t worth it anymore. I’ve been offered a position in a casting office here in New York. It pays more than I currently get and the hours are actually “normal,” plus there are good benefits. And I would just research. So IF we got pregnant, it would be ideal for me. Seriously, working directly with actors just doesn’t have the same appeal to me, and being on set is becoming more of a chore than a joy.

So… do I take the certainty of the job in the casting office or do I continue on with the uncertainty of production? I think I know the answer.

This entry was posted in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What to do… what to do

  1. eileenyover says:

    sounds like your mind is already made up. 😉

  2. Lynne says:

    Regular hours, stable benefits, a short train ride from home? Sounds like a no-brainer to me. And the regular hours would give you time to work on your own projects.

  3. Liana says:

    and now we’re in London – I LOVE it here and the fact that I hold dual citizenship (my bitchbiomom was a Brit national) makes it easier.

Leave a Reply

