Day 8 – A precious item

My grandmother (Yia Yia), as I mentioned in another post, was the only stability I had in my life for the first ten years I was on this planet.  She died when I was twelve.  She left me a music box that I have brought with me all over the world.  It’s a small wooden box with a Greek Orthodox cross inlaid in shell, made in Greece, that plays a Greek hymn when you open it.  It’s my most precious item.  It’s pretty much the only thing left of my Greek heritage, besides the nose I had whittled down a bit when I had surgery for a deviated septum caused by a broken nose when I was twenty-three (hey, the doctor was already doing surgery on my nose, why not get a little touch up?)

This entry was posted in Random Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

